The Pain of Separation Episode 1: When did he stop being my hero?


I could hear her heart shatter into a million pieces. Her dreams were broken like glass. She laid on the floor sobbing uncontrollably. I tried my best to console her but it was a herculean task as she just would not stop crying.

I blame myself for her tears. When did I become the bearer of bad news? My friend had warned me about the implication of sharing this news with her. In her words, “Don’t start what you can’t finish”. I didn’t listen. I thought it was better for her to know.

“Stop crying, please” I said to her. She looked at me through her tears with bloodshot eyes but I do not think she saw or heard me because she continue producing tears like her eyes were waterfalls.

I picked up my phone and dialled the number of the only person I knew who could calm her down.

“ring…ring…ring…” “oh pick up your phone”.I was very anxious.

“Hello” came the voice

“thank God, you have to come to the house now. Bola wouldn’t stop crying”

“What happened? Is she hurt?”

“Yes she is but not physically, it more of an emotional thing. Please hurry. I fear she may hurt herself”

“I’m on my way. I should be with you in 15 minutes.”

The 15 minutes it took him to get here where the longest 15 minutes in my present life. I thanked God the moment I saw his headlight. Before he rang the bell, I was at the door.

“Where is she?” he asked

“Upstairs” I replied

“What did you do to upset her that you had to call me at 9pm to come calm her down?”

“Please lets deal with her then I’ll answer all your questions”

We made our way upstairs where she was still shedding tears and gasping for breath.

“Hey sweetie, what’s the matter?”

His voice was a ray of sunshine, she stopped crying and crawled to him.

“Mummy said you were never coming back to the house, that you two were getting a divorce. Is it true?”

His eyes threw daggers at me. If looks could kill, I would be dead on the spot.

“Sweetie, you know your mummy and I love you but we have been having some problems and we think its best we take a break from our marriage”

“Does that mean you aren’t coming back”

“For now, I don’t know but what I do know is I’m always gonna love you and there for you. I may not be around all the time but I want you to know that no matter where you are. Is that alright?

“Yes daddy”

“Who’s daddy’s favorite girl?”

“Me” she answered him smiling.

I stood at the background watching him use his magic as if I were a stranger yet this is my home and the people before me are my family. The words he spoke to her were knives to my heart. It was obvious he loved her and he was her hero and I wondered when did he stop being my hero?

6 thoughts on “The Pain of Separation Episode 1: When did he stop being my hero?

Share your thoughts

